2nd IEEE PerCom Workshop on Pervasive Wireless Networking

March 17, 2006

In conjunction with the Fourth IEEE International Conference on
Pervasive Computing and Communications, PerCom 2006

Advance Program

Opening Remak (8:25– 8:30)

Session 1: Media Access Techniques and Protocols (8:30 – 10:30)
Session Chair: TBA

A Simulation-Based Study on the Throughput Capacity of Topology Control in CSMA/CA Networks
Douglas Blough, Cyrus Harvesf, Giovanni Resta, George Riley, and Paolo Santi (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)

A High-Throughput MAC Protocol for Wireless Ad Hoc Networks
Wanrong Yu, Jiannong Cao, Xingming Zhou, Keith C.C Chan, Alvin T.S., and Chan, H.V. Leong (Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong and National University of Defense Technology, China)

Collision Detection based on Transmission Time Information in IEEE 802.11 Wireless LAN
Ji-Hoon Yun and Seung-Woo Seo (Seoul National University, Korea)

Design and Implementation of IEEE 802.15.4 Beacon-enabled Network Devices
Li-chun Ko  and Yung-chih Liu (Institute for Information Industry, ROC)

Break (10:30 – 11:00)

Session 2: Routing and Routing Reliability (11:00 – 12:30)
Session Chair: TBA

QoS Routing in OLSR with Several Classes of Service
Jérémie Leguay, Timur Friedman, and Vania Conan (Université Pierre et Marie Curie, France and Thales Communications, France)

Online Routing in Quasi-Planar and Quasi-Polyhedral Graphs
Evangelos Kranakis, Tim Mott, and Ladislav Stacho (Carleton University, Canada and Simon Fraser University, Canada)

A Hop-by-hop Reliability Support Scheme for Wireless Sensor Networks
Haejun Lee, Yangwoo Ko, and Dongman Lee (Information and Communications University, Korea)

Lunch (12:30 - 2:00)

Session 3: Wireless Infrastructures (2:00 – 3:30)
Session Chair: TBA

Framework for integration of different WLAN technologies at the UMTS radio access network
Natasha Vulic, Sonia Heemstra de Groot, and Ignas Niemegeers (Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands and University of Twente and Twente Institute for Wireless and Mobile Communication, The Netherlands)

WiBro Service and Technology for Wireless Internet
Seung-Ku Hwang, Ji-Hwan Ahn, and Young-Il Kim (Electronics and Telecommunications Research Institute)

A MANET Protocol for Information Gathering from Disaster Victims
Takaaki Umedu, Hiroaki Urabe, Jun Tsukamoto, Kazuki Sato, and Teruo Higashino (Osaka University, Japan)

Break (3:30 – 4:00)

Session 4: Wireless Applications and Resource Control (4:00 – 6:00)
Session Chair: TBA

An Adaptive Two-Phase Approach to WiFi Location Sensing
Wenyao Ho, Asim Smailagic, and Daniel P. Siewiorek (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)

Transmission Control Scheme for Fast RFID Object Identification
Christian Flöerkemeier (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Switzerland)

Replica Allocation Considering Power Consumption in Mobile Ad Hoc Networks
Masako Shinohara, Hideki Hayashi, Takahiro Hara, and Shojiro Nishio (Osaka University, Japan)

On the Feasibility of Power Control in Current IEEE 802.11 Devices
Fehmi Ben Abdesslem, Luigi Iannone, Marcelo Dias de Amorim, Konstantin Kabassanov, and Serge Fdida (Université Pierre et Marie Curie, France)