Margaret M. Burnett

Distinguished Professor
School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Oregon State University
Corvallis, Oregon, 97331-5501, USA

email: my-last-name at eecs dot oregonstate dot edu
voice: 541-737-2539, FAX: 541-737-1300
office: Kelley Engineering Center, 3051


Bio, Research, and Interests

Margaret Burnett is an OSU Distinguished Professor at Oregon State University. She began her career in industry, where she was the first woman software developer ever hired at Procter & Gamble Ivorydale. A few degrees and start-ups later, she joined academia, with a research focus on people who are engaged in some form of software development. She was the principal architect of the Forms/3 and FAR visual programming languages, and co-founded the area of end-user software engineering, which aims to improve software for computer users that are not trained in programming. She pioneered the use of information foraging theory in the domain of software debugging, and leads the team that created GenderMag, a software inspection process that uncovers gender inclusiveness issues in software from spreadsheets to programming environments. Burnett is an ACM Fellow, a member of the ACM CHI Academy, and an award-winning mentor. She currently serves on three editorial boards, and has served in over 50 conference organization and program committee roles. She is also on the Academic Alliance Advisory Board of the National Center for Women In Technology (NCWIT).

Recent talks

More Information

Upcoming Presentations and Events

You can hear about some of the projects I've been working on lately at one of these events:


This year I'm teaching:

Fall 2019: Winter 2020: Spring 2020:

Recently, I've also taught:

Office Hours

My Summer office hours will be:

Graduate Student Mentoring

Here are my current graduate students and postdocs: Andrew Anderson (Ph.D.), Brijesh Bhuva (M.S.), Rupika Dikkala (M.S.), Jon Dodge (Ph.D.), Chris Mendez (Ph.D.), Sruti Srinivasa Ragavan (Ph.D.)

Recently graduated: Claudia Hilderbrand (M.S.), Charles Hill (M.S.), Bhargav Pandya (M.S.), Sean Penney (M.S.), David Piorkowski (Ph.D.).

Last modified: Sept. 10, 2019