## IEEE VEHICULAR TECHNOLOGY SOCIETY

VT-06 (Division IX)

#### 1. Jack Neubauer Memorial Award

Description: To recognize the best systems paper published in the IEEE Transactions on Vehicular

Technology.

*Prize:* \$500 (divided equally for multiple authors) and Certificate.

Funding: Funded by Panasonic - Matsushita Communication Industrial Corp. of America, administered

by the IEEE Foundation.

Eligibility: Authors of papers published in the IEEE Transactions on Vehicular Technology for the preceding

year in the field of Systems Engineering. Must be a member of IEEE and VTS.

Basis for Judging: Uniqueness, quality, readability, archivable, etc.

Presentation: At the VTS Annual Conference.

## 2. Best Paper Award

Description: To recognize the best papers published in the IEEE Transactions on Vehicular Technology.

*Prize:* \$500 for Best Paper, \$250 for each of two Best Discipline Papers, and Certificates

Funding: Funded by the IEEE Vehicular Technology Society.

Eligibility: Authors of papers relating to field of Vehicular Communications, Vehicular Electronics and

Transportation published in the VTS Transactions during the year preceding the award.

Basis for Judging: The best paper regardless of discipline (Communications, Electronics, or Transportation) will be

selected for Best Paper award. Two papers, one in each of the two disciplines not represented by

the Best Paper will then be selected for the Best Discipline awards.

Presentation: At annual VTS Conference.

#### 3. Honorary Membership Award

Description: To recognize significant technical contribution and outstanding service to the Vehicular

Technology Society.

*Prize:* Certificate, Pin and Life Membership in the VTS.

Funding: Funded by the IEEE Vehicular Technology Society.

Eligibility: Must be a member of the Society for at least five (5) years, with recognized service to the

profession and the IEEE.

#### 4. Outstanding Service Award

Description: To recognize outstanding service to the VTS Board of Governors.

Prize: Certificate

Funding: Funded by the IEEE Vehicular Technology Society.

Eligibility: Must be a member of IEEE and VTS.

# 5. **Avant Garde Award** (established in 1993)

Description: To recognize leadership and continuing contributions in promoting new technology in the field of

Vehicular Communications and Electronics.

*Prize:* Certificate and medallion with attached ribbon.

Funding: Funded by the IEEE Vehicular Technology Society.

Eligibility: Any member of VTS.

Basis for Judging: Demonstrated pioneering leadership and continuing contributions in promoting new technology in

the field of Vehicular Communications and Electronics.

Presentation: At annual VTS Conference or other VTS activity (including Chapter meetings as appropriate.)

### 6. **Neal Shepherd Memorial Best Propagation Paper Award** (established in 1993)

Description: To recognize the best paper relating to Propagation published in the Transactions on Vehicular

Technology.

Prize: \$500 and Certificate

Funding: Funded by the IEEE Vehicular Technology Society.

Eligibility: Authors of papers relating to Propagation published in the VTS Transactions during the year

preceding the award.

Basis for Judging: Uniqueness, quality, readability, archivability.

Presentation: At annual VTS Conference.

## 7. Chapter-of-the-Year Award

Description: To recognize the outstanding Chapter of the Vehicular Technology Society.

Prize: Certificate

Funding: Funded by the IEEE Vehicular Technology Society.

Eligibility: All active VTS Chapters

Basis for Judging: Highest total attendance for meetings held within year as reported through "L-31" Meeting Report

form.

Presentation: Annually, at Chapter meeting.

### 8. Daniel E. Noble Fellowship Award

Description: To promote graduate-level study in Vehicular Technology.

Prize: \$7,500 and Certificate. Paid in two installments: certificate and \$3,750 given upon submission of

registration form indicating that winner has been enrolled in a graduate program. Second \$3,750

given upon submission of proof of completion of first semester.

Funding: Funded partially by Motorola, Inc. and partially by the Vehicular Technology Society,

administered by the IEEE Foundation.

Eligibility: Student with a Bachelors Degree in engineering or physical science from a university or college

of recognized standing.

Basis for Judging: Contribution to the profession of electrical engineering, with preference to the field of Vehicular

Communications.

Presentation: At annual VTS Conference.

## 9. Convergence Fellowship in Transportation Electronics

Description: To promote graduate-level study in Vehicular Technology.

*Prize:* \$7,500

Funding: Funded by a single contribution from the Vehicular Technology Society in 1988 from the

Convergence Conference, administered by the IEEE Foundation.

Eligibility: Undergraduate degree in electrical engineering from an ABET accredited school in either the US

or Canada.

Basis for Judging: Academic performance as an undergraduate; collegiate activities and professional

accomplishments; relation of applicant's interest to Transportation Electronics.

Presentation: Annually, at the Convergence Conference or VTS related meeting as appropriate.

# 10. Stuart Meyer Memorial Award (established in 1996)

Description: To recognize those members of the Vehicular Technology Society who have both served their

Society and also have contributed to the development of radio technology and science in an

outstanding and exemplary manner.

Prize: \$2,500 and Plaque. The plaque shall include the words "The Stuart Meyer Memorial Award"

jointly presented by Ericsson and the IEEE Vehicular Technology Society.

Funds: Funding will be provided by interest earned from an endowment fund provided by both Ericsson

(50%) and the Vehicular Technology Society (50%). Ericsson will match funds with the Society; the Society's portion of the fund will come from surplus proceeds from various conferences. The appropriateness of the endowment program will be reaffirmed by the Society's BoG at least once

every ten years. The endowment will be administered and managed by the IEEE Foundation.

Eligibility: Candidates must be a member of IEEE and a member of the Vehicular Technology Society.

Currently elected Board members and appointed members of the award selection committee will

not be eligible for this award.

Basis for Judging: The Stuart Meyer Memorial Award Committee shall accumulate and rank the list of candidates

based upon the following criteria: 1) years of IEEE membership as a member, a senior member or as a Fellow; 2) years of VTS membership; 3) years of elected office held in the Vehicular Technology Society; 4) years of appointed office held in the Vehicular Technology Society; 5) papers published in the Vehicular Technology Transactions or the NEWS; 6) contributions to the development of radio communication technology and science; 7) patents that have been issued in the Society's field of interest. Candidates must exhibit a level of service approaching what Stuart Meyer had provided before they will be considered. Furthermore, the selection criteria must be verified with documentation for the potential candidate (i.e., by checking IEEE records for years of membership, reviewing past VTS minutes for service, accumulation of published papers, past awards, etc). The awards committee shall submit a candidate (or a list of candidates in the case where two or more are qualified) to the Society's BoG for approval. This approval process may

take place either at a regularly scheduled board meeting, or via mail ballot.

Presentation: At the Society's annual conference by the Society President, by the Society's Awards Chairman,

or by the Stuart Meyer Memorial Awards Chairman if so designated by the President.